Do Book Covers Affect Whether I Read a Book?

Hey!

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week the hop will start on a Friday and end the following Thursday. There will be a weekly prompt featuring a book related question. Check out their blog for all the weekly prompts. This week’s prompt is “does the cover of a book affect whether you are more willing to read it?”

I would have to say yes on whether I am more willing to read a book because of the book cover. If a book cover jumps out at me, then I am usually more willing to read the book description to see if it would be something that I may like or be interested in. I know there’s that saying “don’t judge a book by its cover”, but more times than not I will check out a book if the cover draws me in. I am probably missing out on so many amazing books by doing this, but I am so guilty of it. There are some exceptions to this though, like if someone recommends a book to me, if it’s a favorite author of mine, or I see a book getting a lot of hype; then I’ll check those out. I am a sucker for a pretty book cover, so nine out of ten times I will choose that prettier one. That sounds so bad, I know. But I am who I am. 😛 And with all of that being said, I am going to share three books where I loved the book cover and I decided to read it, but it ended up not being that great. And three books where I didn’t really like the cover, but I ended up loving the story.

I loved these book covers, but the story wasn’t as great as the book cover:

wheredreamsdescendwhatbigteethbeforeiletgo

Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles
What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo
Before I Let Go by Marieke Nijamp

I wasn’t a fan of these book covers, but the story inside was so great and got five stars:

beingfishkillorphannumbereightthebookofessie

Being Fishkill by Ruth Lehrer
Orphan Number Eight by Kim van Alkemade
The Book of Essie by Meghan/ MacLean Weir

Does the book cover affect whether you are more willing to read it? Feel free to link me to your Book Blogger Hop post if you participated this week, so I can check it out.

In case you missed it;
Mini Review|| Chaos on CatNet.
Bookstagram 2020|| Part Two.
Bookstagram 2020|| Part One.

I hope you have a great day!