Thoughts|| Wildflower.

wildflower

Wildflower by Drew Barrymore
5 out of 5 stars.

“Be Authentic. Be yourself. And most important of all..make it personal.” 

Goodreads Description: Wildflower is a portrait of Drew’s life in stories as she looks back on the adventures, challenges, and incredible experiences of her earlier years. It includes tales of living on her own at 14 (and how laundry may have saved her life), getting stuck in a gas station overhang on a cross country road trip, saying goodbye to her father in a way only he could have understood, and many more adventures and lessons that have led her to the successful, happy, and healthy place she is today. It is the first book Drew has written about her life since the age of 14.


I listened to the audiobook for Wildflower and I absolutely loved it! I love that Drew Barrymore read it herself. I’ve always loved her voice for some reason lol. The Wedding Singer is one of my favorite movies of all-time, lol.

I loved Drew’s little stories and insights on life. In the book she tells stories that happened to her throughout her life. Some are random and some were things that happened that taught her huge life lessons. She wrote about her kids, her husband, her friends and family. Listening to her read about her own life was awesome, because it felt more real. You can hear all the emotion in her voice when she thinks back to those times and when she talked about her family and friends.

I laughed so much and I also cried and got a lot more teary eyed than I ever thought I would. Right from the beginning I was teary eyed, lol. I loved that though, because I felt really connected to her. She didn’t always have the best life and she had some pretty shitty parents. I love that she overcame everything and is now a better person and a better mom to her kids than her mother was to her. I think when she got to writing about Adam Sandler was when I was the most teary eyed, lol. Their friendship is amazing and it continues to this day.

Overall, I loved this book. I was back and forth a lot on whether I wanted to read it or not. I am so glad I did. You’ll laugh and you’ll cry. It was so so good and I loved it so much and I honestly didn’t think I would as much as I did! I definitely plan to pick up a copy to add to my bookshelf!

“I love my life and it takes every step to get to where you are, and if you are happy, then God bless the hard times it took you to get there.”

I hope you all had a great weekend! I spent the entire weekend catching Pokemon on Pokemon Go. My younger sister, fiancé, and I have been obsessed with it. We went to a park and there were SO MANY PEOPLE playing. We even got invited to join some groups at the park LOL! 😛 I think we are going to the beach to check out what Pokemon we can catch over there today.

I hope you have a good Monday!

ashleypink