Thoughts|| My Kind of Crazy.

mykindofcrazy

My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul
5 out of 5 stars.

“There are so many things in life that you simply can’t control. You just have to accept them, even if they don’t make sense.” 

Goodreads Description: Despite the best of intentions, seventeen-year old, wisecracking Hank Kirby can’t quite seem to catch a break. It’s not that he means to screw things up all the time, it just happens. A lot. Case in point: his attempt to ask out the girl he likes literally goes up in flames when he spells “Prom” in sparklers on her lawn…and nearly burns down her house. As if that wasn’t bad enough, Peyton Breedlove, a brooding loner and budding pyromaniac, witnesses the whole thing. Much to Hank’s dismay, Peyton takes an interest in him—and his “work.” The two are thrust into an unusual friendship, but their boundaries are tested when Hank learns that Peyton is hiding some dark secrets, secrets that may change everything he thought he knew about Peyton.


My Kind of Crazy was such a fun and sad read. I was laughing and I was crying. I was happy and I was sad. I was crying sad tears and I was crying happy tears. I went through all the feels while reading this book. I absolutely loved this book so much and it’s now one of my favorite books of the year! I liked it right from the beginning and sometimes it takes me awhile to even get into a book, so that was a big plus. It was so easy to read and breeze through it. It was hard to put down and it had me laughing so much at times. There were a few surprises I wasn’t expecting and the book took an entirely different route than I originally thought it was going to be.

I loved the characters so much, especially Hank and Peyton. Nick was a good character, but at times I didn’t like him or thought that he wasn’t always a very good friend. He had his moments though and I did enjoy him for the most part. Hank and Peyton were both struggling with a lot of things in their lives and I think they helped each other out so much throughout the story. They were always there for each other and I think they kept each other sane even through all the crazy. Hank is hands down now one of my favorite book characters. He was a really caring person and just wanted the best out of life for his family, friends, and himself. I loved the friendship aspect of this book so much.

“Family isn’t about sharing the same blood in your veins; it’s about the people who come into your life and see how completely messed up and nutter you are and then stick around anyway.”

Overall, I loved this book so much and it’s now one of my favorite books of the year. It was fun to read and you get so attached to the characters, because they are so well written and so easy to like and fall in love with. The story itself was amazing and it was so unexpected at times, which was awesome. It’ll break your heart, but it’ll also make you happy too. It’s also very quotable. I saved a million quotes from this book, because almost every line was so good. I highly recommend reading this book.

“That’s the amazing thing about life: you can be sure you know what’s going to happen next, but you never really do.”

Have you read My Kind of Crazy? If so, what did you think? Will you be adding this book to your TBR?

In case you missed it;
Recap|| June.
Book Haul|| June.

I hope you have a great day!

ashleyorange