Thoughts||Butter.

butter

Butter by Erin Jade Lange
4 out of 5 stars.

“If you just stop expecting perfection from everyone and everything, you might see the good stuff outweighs the bad.”

Goodreads DescriptionA boy everyone calls “Butter” is about to make Scottsdale High history. He’s going to eat himself to death live on the Internet – and everyone will watch. He announces his deadly plan to an army of peers and expects pity, insults or even indifference. Instead, he finds morbid encouragement. When that encouragement tips the scales into popularity, Butter has a reason to live. But if he doesn’t go through with his plan, he’ll lose everything.


I’ve been in a bit (actually more than a bit) of a reading slump throughout this month, so I decided to give another book a chance and I actually flew threw this book in just a couple days! I never heard of this book, but I seen it floating around on my Twitter feed and it was only $1.99. The description instantly made me buy it, because it just sounded like something that was so out there and pretty insane.

I am first going to start off by saying that this book was downright sad and at times a little hard to stomach. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to like it or question it or how I was supposed to feel. Suicide is a really serious topic and this was so different. I was sad, I laughed, I smiled, I cried. I felt so many emotions while reading this book. I was rooting for Butter the entire time, because I felt like he deserved happiness. He was constantly struggling throughout the book, with his weight, and especially with this new “popularity” and with whether or not he was going to go through with this plan of killing himself on camera for everyone to see.

It was really sad and so morbid a lot of the time, especially with all of these supposedly “new friends” encouraging it. Butter was so wrapped around the fact that he had friends and was getting invited to things that he didn’t really take notice that the things going on really weren’t okay. There were some happy moments for Butter too, but when you really look at the bigger picture…they weren’t really that happy. In the moment they were, for him. It gave him something to want to live for, but then in the end he knows if he doesn’t go along with his plan to kill himself live for all to see, that none of those “friends” will be his friend. It was basically a lose/lose situation and the book was just so freaking sad!

Overall, as sad as this book was and as weird as it is to say this, I did enjoy it. I enjoyed Butter’s character, I was rooting for him the entire time. I felt like he deserved the world and some. I would recommend reading this book, but keep in mind that it isn’t completely the happiest book. I did cry quite a bit in different parts throughout the book.

“I came through the looking glass, but they were all still going mad at the tea party.”

Have you read Butter? If so, what did you think? Do you think you’ll be giving this book a chance?

I mentioned it quite a few times how this month hasn’t been good for me, but I was still able to do a few blog posts this last week! I’ll link them below and feel free to check them out! 🙂

Tag||Dim Sum. – A fun book tag! Feel free to do the tag too!
Friday Finds E-Book Haul. – My e-book haul for the month of November.
Top Ten Tuesday||Book Quotes. – Some of my favorite quotes from books that I read this year.

I may be a little bit silent this week, because I’m going away for a couple days for Thanksgiving. I won’t have a computer and just my cell phone. I’ll still be able to read blog posts and everything from my phone when I’m not too busy. I also have a couple more posts done already to post throughout the week. I’m leaving Tuesday night and it’ll be like a mini vacation, which is exciting! And hopefully I’ll be meeting Shelbie from Lu-Lu’s Rants & Reads! 🙂

I hope you had a great weekend and have a great Monday! ❤

ashley2

5 thoughts on “Thoughts||Butter.

  1. That quote about expecation is the best, I’ve had experience of trying to deal with someone who’s aperfectionist and they can be very unpleasant to deal with. At the end of the day nothing is perfect, but sometimes is a matter of perspective.

  2. Pingback: November Recap||December TBR. | socially awkward bookworm.

Leave a comment