Tag||Dim Sum.

dimsum-booktag-banner-900x6001

The Dim Sum Book Tag is the brainchild of Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading With Jenna. Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

Here are some rules to devour this tag:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

Hi 🙂

I was tagged by Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts to do the Dim Sum Book Tag that he and Jenna created! Defintely check out both Joey and Jenna’s blogs! They two of my favorites! 🙂 I must make a little confession right now, I don’t believe I have ever had Dim sum before or if I did, I didn’t know what it was. BUT…that’s not going to stop me from doing this tag or going out and finding me some Dim sum afterwards! Shall I get started?

Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold

cityofbones

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I was really enjoying this book at the beginning and thought it was a lot of fun. It did get pretty weird at times though. It slowly started to go downhill for me. I believe I rated this 3 out of 5 stars. I thought it could have been a lot better. I did enjoy books 2-4 (with it slightly getting worse in book 4). I could say this entire series started off hot, but quickly turned cold. It went on three books too many.


Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea

14061955

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. This book has both land and sea, which I thought was really cool. I really enjoyed the beginning of the book with the little battle scene on the sea. That was really fun! Then they get back on land and things are about to go down….kind of. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Siege and Storm. It was still a pretty good book and it had both sea and land, so that was nice.


Rice Noodle Roll: A favourite multilayered character you’ve read (i.e. traits? skills? morally ambiguous?)

ihuntkillers

Jasper from I Hunt Killers. He is very multilayered and sometimes hard to figure out, but he can read you like a book. He is definitely one of my all-time favorite book characters. He was raised by a serial killer, so he thinks like a serial killer. He’s also trying not to become a serial killer himself; so much going on with him and so much to uncover.


Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away

10507293

I was really struggling with coming up with an answer for this book, so I am just going to go with The Selection by Kiera Cass. The description is pretty spot on with what exactly happens in the book. Girls compete in the hope to win the Prince’s heart and that’s pretty much exactly what happened. I did actually enjoy the series, aside from the main character America. I’m sure I have said a million times how much I didn’t like her though haha.


Steamed BBQ Pork Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavour (e.g. message? depth? controversy?)

dumplin

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy. I thought Dumplin’ was definitely going to be a really fluffy read, but it ended up being quite different! Don’t get me wrong, it did have it’s cute little fluff worthy moments, but it really wasn’t overpowering. It really stayed true to being about Willowdean, her self-doubt in herself, and over coming it. There were times when I was looking at myself and even feeling a little bit like Willowdean. Hands down one of my favorite reads this year.


Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions

16143347

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I’ve seen that pretty much everyone has loved this book so much and I really don’t understand why. I actually did not really like it much at all. It was a little too boring for me and for being so short, it could have actually been shorter and probably be a better book.


Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice:  A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged

I actually recently just received a hardcover of Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom from The Novl on Monday! It was definitely a surprise. 🙂 I believe this book is released December 1st.

IMG_5027


Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly

10194157

Shadow and Bone by  Leigh Bardugo. The protagonist finding out they have a special power and having to be taken away from their normal life that they know and thrown into a whole other life. A little bit of a love interest/love triangle going on. I felt Leigh Bardugo did an amazing job with writing this book. Even though there were some cliches in it, it wasn’t torture to read like some others tend to be.


Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination

I’m going to have to go with Jenna and say Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. The snack being Oreos! Seee….I had Oreos when I read it too. 😛

IMG_5383


Fried Sesame Balls: A book cover with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over

11861062

Hmm, so after going to my bookshelves and feeling all my books; I’ll have to go with Starters by Lissa Price. It has a embossed design in the background and title. I can’t wait until I finally read that one. I’m sure I won’t be able to keep my hands off it. 😛


Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around (take a picture!)

I actually don’t use a bag to carry my books in, since I usually just have one book with me. I did recently get this awesome Divergent tote back in my September OwlCrate that I would use if I did use a bag to carry my books.

IMG_5076


I tag:

Maren @ The Worn Bookmark
Shelbie @ Lu-Lu’s Rants & Reads
Yvo @ It’s All About Books
Kayla @ Bookedsolid1989
Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books
Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions

I also tag anyone else that wants to do this tag! I am now off to go find some Dim sum! 😀

ashleybrown

 

13 thoughts on “Tag||Dim Sum.

  1. Yay, I’m excited for you to have your first ever dim sum! The prawn dumplings are my favourite!
    That’s a pretty awesome tote bag you have there. The tote collector/hoarder in me is jealous that I don’t own that one, even though I haven’t read Divergent. I love that Joey chose to put in that question because it’s been so awesome seeing the bags everybody uses! Even though I have major bag envy… (I had to hold myself back from flying around the globe to Canada to steal Joey’s bag, which would probably make it the most expensive bag ever).

    • I feel like I am totally missing out on all the dim sum! I definitely am going to be looking into this ASAP! I was so excited when I seen the Divergent tote! I love the Divergent series so much, so that was exciting! It’s been pretty awesome seeing pictures of everyone’s bag and YES, Joey’s bag! I would love to have his bag too, haha.

    • Thanks 😀
      The Mortal Instruments was a really good series at first, but then it went on way too long and just got so bad and started to get so boring. I still pushed through the entire series though.

      • I forced myself to read the last book. It took me a very long time to read it though. I had to set it aside quite a few times to read something else before I finally finished it. I’ve been off and on about reading her other series (the Infernal Devices), because I was just so over the shadowhunter world after pushing through the mortal instruments series. Everyone says it’s better though!

  2. Pingback: The Dim Sum Book Tag | My Tiny Obsessions

  3. True story: i saw a scratch and dent I Hunt Killers on Book Outlet (1 copy) and I was waiting for other stuff to haul (because shipping is ridiculous sometimes) and then it was sold out the next morning. Have no fear, I’m still looking for a copy!

    Thanks for partaking in the tag!

  4. Pingback: [Awards/Tags] — The Dim Sum Book Tag | thoughts and afterthoughts.

  5. Pingback: Thoughts||Butter. | socially awkward bookworm.

Leave a comment