Book Haul & Wrap Up|| February.

Hey!

I usually do my book hauls and wrap ups separately, but I decided to combine them for this month because both are pretty small with the amount of books I bought and read throughout February. Lately, it’s been hard for me to just sit and read. I don’t know if it’s because I’m in some kind of reading slump or what it could be. I didn’t even really want to listen to audiobooks, but I forced myself this month because if I didn’t, then I wouldn’t really have much to share as far as reading goes. Same with buying books. I’ve been really picky these days of what I buy as far as books go, so I didn’t really buy much this month.

Let’s jump into my February book haul and then get into my wrap up after that! You can check out a full list of the books that I own over here. There’s links to different pages on my blog that show my e-books and my physical books. Here are the books that I got in February…

daughterofthedeepsweettalklikeme

Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan (Physical Book)
Sweet Talk by Cara Bastone (E-Book)
Like Me by Hayley Phelan (E-Book)

I always have fun reading Rick Riordan’s books, so I had to get Daughter of the Deep. I had no idea he even had a new one, so I was stoked when I found out. Sweet Talk is the second book in the Love Lines series. I read the first book Call Me Maybe and really liked it, so I got the second one. Like Me was free with Amazon First Reads. It sounded interesting, so why not since it was free lol. So, as you can see my book haul for February was pretty small! Only one physical book and two e-books.

What books did you get in February? Have you read any of the ones that I got?


And now for my wrap up! I didn’t have much luck with reading this month as I mentioned earlier in this post. I just couldn’t focus on reading. I would sit down, try to read, and then just wanted to pick up my phone instead. Maybe I need to start turning my phone off and put it in another room and set time where I read for at least 30 minutes to an hour each day or something. For February I read one book, which took me an entire month to finish a book under 300 pages ughh. I listened to three books. And I had a DNF book that was also an audiobook that I tried listening to. You can find a full list of the books that I read in January and the other books I read throughout the year over here. All will be linked to Goodreads below and I will also link to individual blog posts for them if I did a review.

callmemaybeelizaandhermonstersthechalkmanmebeforeyou

Call Me Maybe by Cara Bastone – 4 out of 5 stars – (E-Book)
Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia – 4 out of 5 stars (Audiobook)
The Chalk Man by C.J. Tudor – 3 out of 5 stars (Audiobook)
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – 4 out of 5 stars (Audiobook)

I’m still trying to read a lot of my older books that I’ve had on my shelves for a while and this month I did really good with that. Aside from Call Me Maybe (I bought it last year), these others were books that I’ve had for a while and had not read yet. Call Me Maybe was really cute and I had a lot of fun reading it. It took me all month to read it and it’s only a little over 200 pages, but I am happy I was finally able to finish it because I really enjoyed it. I really enjoyed Eliza and Her Monsters. It was not what I expected, but that was a good thing. There were things I didn’t like about it like how Wallace seemed kind of selfish to me in the end and I also really wasn’t a fan of the fanfiction that was included in the story. The Chalk Man was good, but I felt like there was something missing. It was kind of weird too. I think I was expecting something else. I’ve been wanting to read Me Before You for a while now and I finally did! It was really good, but so sad. I didn’t really like how it ended though.

thisgirl

This Girl by Colleen Hoover – DNF

I really liked Slammed and Point of Retreat, but The Girl was a DNF for me. I was bored throughout listening to the audiobook and Layken was really annoying and whiny. I feel like it could have been better without her commentary after each flashback from Will’s perspective.

What books did you read in February? Have you read any of the books that I read? Feel free to link me to your wrap up post, so I can check it out!

I am hoping that March will be a lot better as far as reading goes. I want to get back into the swing of things and actually be able to read books myself again! I have a couple of ARCs that I really want to try to read in March, so I can finally get my reviews up for them. Fingers crossed that happens! I’ll catch up with you posts soon. I’ve been trying to blog hop at least once a week and I’ve been pretty good at sticking to that over the last few weeks. 🙂

I’ll end this post with a picture of one of my cats (ColbyJack) hanging out on one of my bookshelves.

I hope you have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Book Haul & Wrap Up|| February.

  1. Maybe you just need a break from reading. I always find this hard though because I am so used to having a book in my hand at all times. When I took a hiatus last year, I made sure I set aside a week where I didn’t read anything. I binged a lot of TV during that time, haha. I’ve never read a Francesca Zappia book, but I’ve always been curious about various titles. ColbyJack is so cute, thank you for blessing me with his portrait. Happy March!

  2. I’m so sorry February hasn’t been the best when it comes to reading! I hope that you’ll find your motivation for it again soon, maybe you just need to take a real, long break from it to come back refreshed and excited to read again ❤
    I'm happy you enjoyed Eliza and her Monsters, I loved that one! 🙂

Leave a comment