Wrap Up|| January.

Hey!

January went by way too fast. I didn’t get to do most of the things that I wanted to do or read as much as I wanted to. There are blog posts that I hoped to work on and get posted throughout the month; that ended up not happening. I wanted to catch up with your posts and didn’t get the chance until earlier this week. I feel like the month went by in the blink of an eye! This month I need to play catch up on those posts I didn’t get to. Let’s focus on the positives of the month though…

I read mostly books that I own minus one that was from the library (that I got before 2021 ended) that happened to be a DNF. Since it was a DNF, I don’t count that. I have been mostly staying away from the library so far this year, which is another positive. I do get audiobooks from my library of books that I own and don’t count that against my goal since I am listening to books I do own. And lastly, I was able to post a review and check off an ARC from my list of older ARCs that I didn’t get the chance to read/review last year.

January hasn’t gone exactly to plan with blog posts and stuff, but I have been making progress with some of my 2022 reading goals already! Now, I’ll jump into my January wrap up. You can find a full list of the books that I read in January and the other books I read throughout the year over here. All will be linked to Goodreads below and I will also link to individual blog posts for them if I did a review. Here are the books that I read and listened to in January...

Print/E-Book Books:
These are the books that I read myself (not audiobooks) throughout the month of January.

aristotleanddante1somethingsistillcanttellyou

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz – 5 out of 5 stars
Some Things I Still Can’t Tell You by Misha Collins – 3 out of 5 stars

Aristotle and Dante was a reread. I wanted to refresh my memory of it since the sequel recently came out and I am hoping to read it this month. I loved it just as much as I did the first time I read it back in 2015 (I think). I mentioned before how I really like Misha Collins, especially from knowing him from the TV show Supernatural. His book of poems Some Things I Still Can’t Tell You was good, but I didn’t love it. I found it hard to really connect to any of the poems. But it was interesting getting a different glimpse into his life and who he is through his poems.


Audiobooks:
These are the books that I listened to the audio versions throughout the month of January.

gildedinstructionsfordancingwellmet

Gilded by Marissa Meyer – 5 out of 5 stars – Review
Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon – 4 out of 5 stars
Well Met by Jen DeLuca – 4 out of 5 stars

I received an ARC of Gilded from Netgalley last year, but I didn’t get the chance to read it. My library had the audiobook, so I listened to it and it was SO GOOD! I loved it so much. You can check out my mini review (linked above) to see more of what I thought. I really liked Instructions for Dancing. Nicola Yoon has been hit or miss for her books for me. Some I really love and some are “meh”, but this one was great and I enjoyed listening to the audiobook. I’ve been seeing Well Met around for so long and I bought the e-book last year, but decided to give the audiobook a chance since my library had it available. I really liked it! I can definitely see why it was talked about a lot. It made me really want to go to a Renaissance festival again. Where I used to live there was one two weekends out of the year and that was fun. I am excited to pick up the sequel and hopefully it’s just as good.


DNF (Did Not Finish):
These are the books that I tried to read in the month of January, but they ended up not being for me so I will not be continuing them.

theunitlandline

The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist
Landline by Rainbow Rowell

The Unit was a book that I got from the library last year and didn’t get the chance to read it, so I tried to at the start of this year. It sounded really interesting and I probably didn’t give it a fair chance by I reading about 15% of it before I decided I was done. I felt it was taking too long for anything to really happen and I was losing interest fast. Other books were calling my name instead. I kind of want to give it a second chance, but I know I probably will never get around to that unless an audiobook becomes available. I’ve owned Landline for such a long time now and I finally decided to give it a chance and holy crap was it boooooring. I listened to half of the audiobook and just could not do it anymore. I was so bored and I really did not like the main character Georgie. She was beyond annoying.

What books did you read in January? Have you read any of the books that I read? Feel free to link me to your wrap up post, so I can check it out!

I was able to catch up and comment on your posts a few days ago, so that was exciting. I will probably do that again this weekend and also reply to comments. I need to work on those blog posts of mine that I meant to do in January and never did, sigh. Hopefully this weekend I can do that too. 🙂

In case you missed it;
Book Haul|| January.

I hope you have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Wrap Up|| January.

  1. I probably should reread Aristotle And Dante before reading the sequel as I don’t really remember much about it anymore other than that I enjoyed it… Landline wasn’t for me either, and I kind of wish I had DNFed it too. I hope you will have a wonderful February! xx

    • I’m glad I reread Aristotle and Dante, because I forgot so much of it as I was reading it! I also flew through rereading it because I forgot how short the chapters are! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one that didn’t like Landline. Thanks, I hope you’ll have a wonderful February too!

  2. I totally check out audiobooks from my library of books I own as well. Sometimes I just want someone to read to me. I haven’t read any Jen DeLuca, but I’ve been really into romance lately, so maybe I will check her out. Hope you have a great February!

    • It’s nice having someone read to you sometimes haha. I also like getting them because it’s books I do want to read, but I know I probably won’t pick up anytime soon myself because I have others I want to read first. If you check out Well Met, I hope you like it! It was my first time reading anything by Jen DeLuca and it was really good! I hope you have a great February too! ❤

  3. I also like the get audiobook from the library for books I own, I find that it makes me more likely to pick them up & I can switch between formats 🥰 I have been curious about Misha Collins’ poetry book since I found out about it, but I also fear I might not be able to connect to them – I’m very picky with what poetry I like! Glad to see that you liked Gilded, I love that Marissa Meyer has a new retelling out 😊 I hope you’re doing well!

Leave a comment