Mini Review|| Gilded.

gilded

Gilded by Marissa Meyer
5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Description: Long ago cursed by the god of lies, a poor miller’s daughter has developed a talent for spinning stories that are fantastical and spellbinding and entirely untrue. Or so everyone believes. When one of Serilda’s outlandish tales draws the attention of the sinister Erlking and his undead hunters, she finds herself swept away into a grim world where ghouls and phantoms prowl the earth and hollow-eyed ravens track her every move. The king orders Serilda to complete the impossible task of spinning straw into gold, or be killed for telling falsehoods. In her desperation, Serilda unwittingly summons a mysterious boy to her aid. He agrees to help her . . . for a price. Soon Serilda realizes that there is more than one secret hidden in the castle walls, including an ancient curse that must be broken if she hopes to end the tyranny of the king and his wild hunt forever.


I received an ARC of Gilded from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. It was released on November 2nd, 2021.

I am always unsure when it comes to Marissa Meyers books, especially retellings because I wasn’t really a big fan of the Lunar Chronicles. I still wanted to give Gilded a chance because I love Rumpelstiltskin and was excited for a retelling! If you can tell by my five star rating above, I loved Gilded. I was actually shocked by how much I loved it. There were so many happy and beautiful moments, but so many that were sad and painful too. I really enjoyed the stories that Serilda told throughout the book. She may not be able to spin straw into gold, but she could definitely spin a story. Magic, curses, monsters, and ghosts make for a great book and I had so much fun reading this one. I am now impatiently waiting for the sequel, Cursed, which comes out November of this year!

In case you missed it;
2022 Reading Goals.
2021 Year in Books.

I hope you have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Mini Review|| Gilded.

  1. Pingback: Book Haul|| January. | socially awkward bookworm.

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up|| January. | socially awkward bookworm.

Leave a comment