Wrap Up|| September.

Hey!

It’s OCTOBERRRRRR. πŸŽƒ The weather might actually be cooling down a little bit for Florida, that’s exciting! πŸ˜› September was a pretty good month for me as far as things happening in my life. I got a raise at work, working on lowering our mortgage payment, stuff like that. I still feel sad a lot though. I still try to distract my thoughts with reading, TV shows (a lot of Halloween Baking Championship and other competition shows), and video games (still going strong with Stardew Valley lol). But other things in my life are seeming to be really good right now, so I guess I can’t complain too much.

As far as reading goes, it was another month where I didn’t read as much as I wanted or hoped to. I read two books and listened to two audiobooks. That’s okay, but of course I hoped for more. I did complete my Goodreads challenge though! Now I don’t have to worry about if I am going to complete my challenge before the year ends. I was kind of nervous about that a few months ago since I haven’t been reading that much this year. I have three months of no pressure reading now. πŸ˜›

Anyway, let’s get to my September wrap up. You can find a full list of the books that I read this month and the other books I read throughout the year over here. All will be linked to Goodreads below and I will also link to individual blog posts for them if I did a review. Here are the books that I read and listened to in September.

Print/E-Book Books:
These are the books that I read myself (not audiobooks) throughout the month of September.

onelaststopafterthefire

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston – 4 out of 5 stars
After the Fire by Will Hill – 4 out of 5 stars

One Last Stop was really good and I really enjoyed it. It wasn’t what i expected either, but that’s probably because I saw it was a Casey McQuiston book and immediately decided I needed to read it and not read what it was about. πŸ˜› The ending was kind of lame though, but the rest of it was so good! I’ve been wanting to read After the Fire for a few years now and I finally did! It was really good; shocking and sad. It was another book where I wasn’t really happy with the way it ended though. With that being said, I definitely recommend checking both of these books out if you haven’t!


Audiobooks:
These are the books that I listened to the audio version throughout the month of September.

felixeverafterthemaidens

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender – 5 out of 5 stars
The Maidens by Alex Michaelides – 2 out of 5 stars

Felix Ever After was EVERYTHING. Emotional rollercoaster. I laugh. I cried. It made me so happy. It made me so angry. I loved it so much and I am glad that I finally read it. Highly recommend checking it out if you haven’t! The Maidens was a big disappointment to me. I found a lot of it to be boring. I wasn’t that surprised or shocked by most of the things that happened.

What books did you read in September? Have you read any of the books that I read? Feel free to link me to your wrap up post, so I can check it out!

This weekend I am going to catch up with your posts and work on finishing up my Halloweenie TBR post that will probably go up on Monday! πŸ˜€ I’m pretty happy with the books that I chose to read this month. Also this weekend, I might check out this new bookstore that opened up here and maybe hit up the farmer’s market since it opened back up again last month. Do you have any weekend plans?

In case you missed it;
Book Haul|| September.

I hope you have a great day and weekend!

12 thoughts on “Wrap Up|| September.

  1. HELLO!!! I feel like I haven’t talked to you in forever. Congrats on completing your Goodreads challenge. I set my goal pretty low because it’s nice to get it out of the way early. My weekend plans include dusting off all my Halloween decorations and putting them up. I feel like this is finally my time of year, haha. Happy October!

    • HIIII! πŸ˜€ I’ve been so absent from blogging lately. 😦 I really need to get back in the swing of things here. Thanks. I set mine to only 50 for this year, but I kind of figured I wouldn’t read so much so I didn’t want to overwhelm myself. Yay for putting up your Halloween decorations! I have some of mine up and have been looking to buy some new things too. I put mine up in September LOL, I couldn’t wait any longer than I already had. hahah.

  2. Oh, I’m so excited to hear you enjoyed After the Fire. I read a short story by the author and I’ve had it on my TBR ever since but I never see anyone talking about it! Shame about the Maidens, though. I wasn’t a fan of the Silent Patient either.

    Congrats on the raise and for completing your GR challenge! And happy October. πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad I finally read After the Fire and that I enjoyed it. It was sitting on my shelf since it released in 2018 I think lol, oops. I hadn’t really seen it around either or being talked about. I wanted to read it because Patrick Ness spoke highly of it and I really like Patrick Ness, so I was like “if he loved it then I need to read it” haha. I hope you get the chance to read it soon and that you enjoy it too! Thank you! πŸ™‚ Happy October to you too! ❀

  3. Pingback: Halloweenie TBR|| 2021. | socially awkward bookworm.

  4. Great post, Ashley! I’m really curious about ‘After the Fire’ but so disappointed that ‘The Maidens’ has such consistently low review ratings. I was really looking forward to it..

  5. Congrats on completing your GR challenge! You’ve reminded me I really need to get to Felix Ever After… I’ve been meaning to read that one. I wasn’t a fan of The Maidens either; it was such a disappointment as I did like The Silent Patient a lot better. Have a wonderful October! xx

Leave a comment