2016 Read My Books Challenge.

2016readmybooks

Hello! 🙂

One of my favorite bloggers, Maren from The Worn Bookmark, came up with this pretty awesome book challenge to read the books you already have on your shelves. I know that I went book buying crazy this year and so many of them are now collecting dust. Tons of them were some of my highly anticipated books of the year! Sigh. I also used the library a lot more this year as well. I want to tackle some of these older books and that is where the 2016 Read My Books Challenge comes into play!

The Rules:

  • Count up your unread books (whether physical, Kindle, ebook, audiobook, etc) and decide on how many you of those books you want to read in 2016.  You can make a list and include that in your sign-up post or you can just include the number.  I chose to create a page on my blog that has my entire physical book collection with the titles read bolded to help me keep track. 
  • Create your sign-up post with your total number unread and the number that you want to accomplish reading in 2016 and link to it Maren’s sign-up link. Sign-ups are open until January 10 @ 9 am CST.
  • When (if) you do your monthly review posts, add a line to show your progress and link up your posts to Maren’s 2016 RMHLC monthly update posts.
  • Optional: As you’re reading books for this challenge, feel free to use the hashtag #2016readmybooks on Twitter and Instagram to share the books you are reading.

Sounds simple enough! I will be linking Maren’s page down below and it has the above rules as well as the sign-up link! There will also be an International giveaway (13 chances to win!) at the end of the year for $30 USD to Book Depository as long as they ship to your country! So please feel free to join in on the challenge! Here is the link to Maren’s challenge page!


My Challenge:

For my 2016 challenge I am going to choose 30 books to read by the end of 2016. That way I can still read others as well! You don’t have to make a TBR for the challenge (unless you want to, of course), so have fun with it and read whatever you like! I thought about choosing the books beforehand, but I will be updating my TBR jar at the end of the year and using that for a lot of this challenge. I think I will make a second TBR jar in 2016 for the books I buy in 2016, so I can get my older books read for this challenge as well as some of those newer books! I will be doing both Kindle books and physical books. I made pages on my blog for all the books that I own. I’ll link you to those pages below.

Here is my official count and goal for the 2016 Read My Books Challenge!
464 books (owned – physical & e-book)
327 books are unread.
30 books is my goal for 2016.

You can check out the books I own linked down below and linked on my blog main page next to my “about me” page.
Kindle e-books.
Physical books.

I hope to see you participating! 😀

ashleypurplesig.png

 

15 thoughts on “2016 Read My Books Challenge.

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you’re joining in! 🙂 I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who has a ton of books unread lol. I need to count my Kindle books…. that one is going to be bad lol.

    • 😀 It’s gonna be fun! 🙂 I didn’t even realize I had so many unread until I counted everything, haha. I knew it was a lot, but the number actually really surprised me!

  2. I have so many books on my shelves I need to read – I just keep buying more and more! Your post has inspired me to take up the challenge though and to finally get round to reading them 😊

    • Sigh, I keep buying more and more as well! And then I end up reading library books instead haha. So hopefully this challenge helps with getting to all these books I bought this year! I hope you have fun with this challenge as well! 🙂

      • Haha, I know exactly what you mean – I live by a library so every night I walk home, I have to fight the urge to go and have a look, especially as I always come away with a pile of books! This challenge will definitely encourage me to pay attention to the books I already have, so thanks for sharing it 🙂 And thanks, you too 🙂

      • My library allows me to check out e-books and audiobooks and have them sent straight to my phone/kindle, so I’ve been doing that a lot. haha. I really need to read my own library LOL! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day Four||12 Days of Christmas Blogging. | socially awkward bookworm.

  4. Pingback: 2016 Read My Books Challenge | A Figment of the Imagination

  5. Pingback: 2016 Goals|| Win or Fail? | socially awkward bookworm.

Leave a Reply

