Thoughts: Made You Up.

IMG_9223

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
5 OUT OF 5 STARS

“Sometimes I think people take reality for granted.”

First off, I need to point out how amazing this book cover is! The back is just as amazing, promise! You should go buy the book, so you can see it. 😛 I was so excited to read this book and to be honest, it sat on my bookshelf longer than it really should have!

I loved this book so much! The story was great and there was never a dull moment. There was a great cast of characters to both absolutely fall in love with (Alex, Miles, Tucker – some faves of mine) and then to absolutely hate. I was also not a fan of Alex’s mom, blehhh. I wanted to punch her a few times. There were tons of shocking things going on and you were left with a blank face yelling “what!?!”. That happened to me a few times.

You will not want to put it down. You’ll want to abandon all of your responsibilities, because you’ll want to read forever. You’ll start to question a magic 8 ball for all your answers to everything in life. Like whether you should stop reading and go to sleep. Or if you’re going crazy. You know….the tough life questions. You’ll laugh. You’ll cry. You’ll smile. You’ll get angry. You’ll feel all the feels.

I love the story though. I loved everything about it. I’m not sure there was anything to really not like about this book (besides some of the characters, but that’s all books). Lots of twists and turns and some cute and fun stuff. You’ll not only fall in love with the book cover, but the story inside too. And you’ll fall in love with Miles…trust me, I’m in love. I highly recommend this book! Like…go read this now! GOOOO! 😉

“Believing something existed and then finding out it didn’t was like reaching the top of the stairs and thinking there was one more step.”

IMG_9643

Goodreads Description: Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? What are you currently reading? I have no clue what I even want to read next! I have no book picked out…ahhhh! I have to get to work now. I hope you all have a great day! ❤

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “Thoughts: Made You Up.

  1. I really need to read this one ASAP! Like yesterday! Awesome review, you made me want to quit all my current reads and read this one first. If it’s just as good as the amazing cover like you said, I will love it.

  2. Pingback: Thoughts: After the End. | dear world...

  3. Pingback: Friday Finds #22 & Stuff. | dear world...

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays #13. | dear world...

  5. Pingback: July Recap. | dear world...

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s